Collector Vintages


  • Marie de Magdala joseph savon off

label-accueil-aocAs the years go by I discovered that parcelling up the domain represented the expression of various soils and offered a different approach increasing the characteristics of the wines of Clos Sainte Magdeleine.

That's why the idea of collector vintages, wines only produced in fair years and being at the best to express the particular taste of the charky soil of the seaside of Cassis. So, it's a way to pay tribute to the women and men who matter in the vineyard.

Marie de Magdala (or Marie-Magdeleine) Christ's follower, biblical important person, penitent former sinner, decided to come and end her life in Provence.
In the 19e century the name of the property had been chooses in her honour.

label-accueil-abJoseph Savon, former owner of Clos Sainte Magdeleine, brought about the revival of the Cassis' vineyard after the great crisis of phylloxera and awarded a golden medal for his white wine at the 1900 world fair in Paris.

Cuvées collection


  • Marie de Magdala joseph savon off

label-accueil-aocAu fil des ans, il m'est apparu que le travail de sélection parcellaire représentait l'expression des différents terroirs du domaine, et pouvait offrir une approche différente et valorisante des vins du Clos Sainte Magdeleine.

C'est ainsi qu'est née l'idée des cuvées collections, vins produits uniquement en années favorables et se voulant une expression la plus directe possible des terroirs calcaires de bord de mer de Cassis. C'est aussi un hommage aux femmes et hommes qui ont comptés pour ce domaine.

Marie de Magdala (ou Marie-Magdeleine) disciple du Christ, personnage biblique central, ancienne pécheresse repentie, décida de venir finir sa vie en Provence. C'est en son honneur que le nom du domaine fut choisit au XIXe siècle.

label-accueil-abJoseph Savon, ancien propriétaire du Clos Sainte Magdeleine, artisan du renouveau du vignoble de Cassis après la grande crise du phylloxera, et qui obtint une médaille d'or pour son vin blanc à l'exposition universelle de Paris en 1900.